Hungary #4 – Pygmy Cormorants

As promised, it’s Pygmy Cormorants today from my Shetland Wildlife trip to Hungary. Only a handful of images as I have yet to do the many photos taken full justice, and other work is beginning to catch up with me now I am back in Shetland. At least I missed nothing of any great impact on the island while I was away – and selfishly it was a huge relief that a report of an unstreaked locustella last week turned out to be a Grasshopper Warbler. Phew! The many River Warblers we saw and heard in the Zempln Hills floodplain were all the sweeter for knowing I wasn’t missing one on my doorstep!

Two years running now I have managed to spend a fortnight off Shetland in the height of spring migration without missing a good bird at home – an enviable record, though not one JLI and the others will thank me for as my time away has coincided both years with predominantly northerly winds. Still, as BM says – it just takes one bird…

