Of migrants and squid

A couple of tantalising texts during the course of the day from JLI – a Barred Warbler flirting around the heligoland yard, and a Black-tailed Godwit in my lower field. Hard to say which I wanted to stick around more until I got home. Shameless yearlister that I am, the godwit won out, so I was relieved to find it in my neighbour’s field this evening – a nice dark still largely summer-plumaged individual, feeding nervously by itself amongst the grazing sheep. Another one of those species I was hoping would appear on the house-yearlist, but certainly could not count upon. They’re annual, but that’s not to say I’m in the right place at the right time every year to see them.

After not seeing the Barred Warbler in the heligoland kaleyard, I was definitely in the right place at the right time in the plantation. In the hour before dusk the place came alive with warblers feeding in the still and rather humid gloom. At least 6 Willows (at one point all out on the fence beyond the enclosure, with I think 1 or 2 still in the trees), and a brief but excellent view of my first Grasshopper Warbler of the year. Again, a species that I don’t see annually on the isle, but sadly on this occasion nowhere near the croft…

BM came along and we set up a mistnet, but by the time it was ready the warblers had vanished into the depths of the trees – just one Willow Warbler to show for our efforts.

Back home, am typing this now in between ladling inky black fish stock onto a risotto – I came home tonight the proud owner of a couple of kilos of fresh squid, so I’m taking my time to do some of it justice, and cook one of my favourite meals – risotto nero. Mrs Bonxie says food shouldn’t be black. Mrs Bonxie is wrong. 😉

2 Responses

  1. what are the chances of the house list making the big 100?

  2. Slim to moderate! I fear it’ll end up in the mid nineties, and the big 100 will be tantalisingly near yet frustratingly unattainable.

    Long-tailed Duck is the only dead cert I can think of. The remainder will be pure chance.

Leave a Reply

