Lesser Scaup joy (and more besides)

After being teased all day by JLI’s texts of migrant goodies at home, there was only one thing I could possibly do after work. Hurry home and catch up on what I was missing? Obviously not. I had a score to settle with the Loch of Benston Lesser Scaup.

The wretched thing was still on the far side of the loch, so it was a case of some good old-fashioned fieldcraft to get myself close enough to get satisfying views, take a few notes (untrendy, I know, but I’m quaint like that) and try my hand at some photos too. It took an hour and a half of stalking around the side of the loch to get within reasonable range of the drake Lesser Scaup as it fed with a couple of Tufted Duck, and to have the sun behind me. I used every available bit of contour in the surrounding fields; moved only when all the ducks had dived; and ended up on my belly amongst the sheep shit by the shore. Glamorous stuff. Worth it though…

090515 Lesser Scaup 014for web

090515 Lesser Scaup 004for web

090515 Lesser Scaup 009for web

I felt and smelt pretty sheepy by the time I got to the evening ferry, to meet my tormentor (JLI) in the ferry queue. We were both back too late to see the Rustic Bunting BM had found at Brough, but worked the plantation in the last of the evening light to score Icterine Warbler and brief views of a cracking male Bluethroat. Tomorrow could well be a good day…

One Response

  1. Or maybe not!

Leave a Reply

