More migrants

Two days of south-easterlies, and it’s all go here. There’s been a massive fall of Goldcrests – at least 6 of them in the plantation, and briefly outside my back door before they realised conifers were in again this season.  And Robins… I can hardly move for the 2 of them. 3 Chiffchaffs too threatening a breach of the peace. Slightly less sarcastically, there’s an obvious influx of Blackbirds, and I booted 11 from the plantation this afternoon when I got home from work. Also 6 Fieldfare, and 10 Redwing.

All very exciting, though I’ll save the “I’ve got thrush” blog title for the day I finally find a rare thrush here. Meanwhile, top banana is a male Brambling, presumably the same one I found mooching around my sheep fields last weekend. Nothing else untoward happening here yet. It’s still waaaaay too early though to be expecting anything out of the ordinary.

Leave a Reply

