Welcome migrants

At last some south-easterly action on the isle. A text from JLI to say he’d got a Black Redstart outside his house, and I might want to keep an eye out for anything else when I got home from work. Were this late spring or anytime in the autumn, I might have had a quandry on my hands – as it was, at this time of year Champion’s League football won out. I hardly needed to bother with making a conscious effort though, as I scored new birds for the year from the car on the way down the isle from the ferry to home.

White Wagtail… Song Thrush… and the crowning glory, a Meadow Pipit on the lawn outside the house.  I love the sense of anticipation at this time of year – there’s no great expectation of anything rare per se, but the return of the first summer breeders and the first overshooting migrants certainly quickens the blood. (Not as much as Adebayor’s second half goal tonight though…)

Leave a Reply

