On dipping

Dipping is never easy. Dipping Brown Flycatcher and a male Siberian Thrush is always going to be hard to take. Fortunately, I dipped both on Fair Isle, which if ever that particular pill can be sugared comes as a pretty good sweetener.

Fate is a fickle mistress, and I tempted her by daring to hope that last Thursday night’s rain and cloud cover might at least keep the Siberian Thrush grounded. I was pretty much resigned to the fact that the flycatcher was long gone, despite a single observer report early on Thursday morning, but the thrush… yes, the thrush might just still be there.

It wasn’t.

The wind picked up on Saturday, and I ended up staying on Fair Isle until Monday, which was no hardship at all as it was a great chance to catch up with friends who live on the island, and friends old and new at the Observatory. Birds? Well, a few. I reckon I must have seen at least 10 Yellow-browed Warblers; plus a Little Bunting, 2 Pectoral Sandpipers, and 4 Snow Buntings. Nothing earth-shattering, that’s for sure, but it was a good weekend for all that.

Forecast looking quietly promising for early next week. Did I say that aloud? Forget I ever mentioned it… I wouldn’t want fate to take an interest in me again quite so soon.

One Response

  1. Well done for going though. Fortune favours the brave and all that!………..remember the Caspian this Spring, and all those who dipped only hours earlier.

Leave a Reply

