On dipping

Dipping is never easy. Dipping Brown Flycatcher and a male Siberian Thrush is always going to be hard to take. Fortunately, I dipped both on Fair Isle, which if ever that particular pill can be sugared comes as a pretty good sweetener.

Fate is a fickle mistress, and I tempted her by daring to hope that last Thursday night’s rain and cloud cover might at least keep the Siberian Thrush grounded. I was pretty much resigned to the fact that the flycatcher was long gone, despite a single observer report early on Thursday morning, but the thrush… yes, the thrush might just still be there.

It wasn’t.

The wind picked up on Saturday, and I ended up staying on Fair Isle until Monday, which was no hardship at all as it was a great chance to catch up with friends who live on the island, and friends old and new at the Observatory. Birds? Well, a few. I reckon I must have seen at least 10 Yellow-browed Warblers; plus a Little Bunting, 2 Pectoral Sandpipers, and 4 Snow Buntings. Nothing earth-shattering, that’s for sure, but it was a good weekend for all that.

Forecast looking quietly promising for early next week. Did I say that aloud? Forget I ever mentioned it… I wouldn’t want fate to take an interest in me again quite so soon.